Devon Rowland Photography

Reviews: What People Have to Say About Me

Real client reviews gathered here for easy perusal from sites like Google, The Knot, Yelp, Facebook, and Wedding Wire.  


John - August 2017

Devon was outstanding in capturing the best day in my life. Her sense of timing and composition was so good. Her photos were fun and compelling, from dynamic poses during the dances, the candid expressions of people's faces, to the emotions of moment. I wholeheartedly with unbridled enthusiasm recommend Devon to photograph your wedding.

Pattie - August 2017

Devon was such an amazing professional to work with. By far, she was the least stressful part of our wedding, she always told us very clearly what to expect and what her suggested schedule was like, and had many other helpful tips and tricks for our wedding. We had no idea that she was going to be such an integral part of our wedding organizing. 
The photos were incredible, and captured exactly the fun and spontaneous vibe of our wedding. We loved every photo and we will definitely be using Devon for all our future photography needs/suggesting her to all of our friends!

Nicole - August 2017

Devon has a natural talent and ability with her craft that is amazing to be around. She finds the best moments in your day (she did my wedding and I can't praise her enough, I love those photos!) and she will keep you at east (she also did a boudoir shoot for me pre-wedding! I'm not used to modeling, but you'd never know it thanks to her work!) I can't recommend her enough for any of your event needs.

Jess - July 2017

The preview pictures were amazing. Just waiting now for the rest of them. Fantastic service and great eye for photography. Thank you Devon-we love what you've done!!

Michele - June 2017 

Little Weaver Web Development Collective hired Devon Rowland Photography to take a number of headshots and group shots for us last month. Working with Devon was an absolute joy. In addition to her high level of talent, she seemed to understand and was able to capture the spirit of our company, which was really important to us in this shoot.  Also, she is also personally fun to hang around for a few hours. We would recommend Devon to absolutely anyone.

June 2017

Devon is amazing! She captured all of the moments I didn't know I needed captured. The family photos went quickly and seamlessly. The action shots were crisp and spot on. She is very laid back and easy to work with - I could not have asked for a better photographer!

Jonathan - May 2017 

Beautiful photos, very affordable for the Baltimore-DC-VA market, and very responsive to emails well in advance of the wedding until the last minute. We also loved the gorgeous preview shots! Devon was also very easy to work with the day of and extremely efficient so we could enjoy our wedding! The candids and posed portraits are absolutely beautiful.

Taylor - April 2017 

Devon was one of the personable people I've ever met, working with her was a breeze (especially for someone who is a bit awkward in front of a camera!) She was so excited about certain backdrops and was very helpful. I had no real idea of what I was looking for other than "headshots" for auditions and such, and she helped me find great poses and moments that turned out lovely. Thank you, Devon!!

Casey - April 2017

Devon is an amazing photographer. The shots she took for our engagement shoot and our wedding day are spectacular - and this is even before I've gotten the finished shots! She is a pleasure to work with and very accommodating. One of her strongest suits is getting the sneak candid shots that capture the moment perfectly. Definitely my photographer of choice for all future events.

Emily - April 2017

Comfort, warm, caring, open-minded, and more. She's amazing! As someone with low self esteem about pictures, I ADORE my wedding and engagement pictures from Devon!

Rhiannon - January 2017

Devon, you are amazing. Thank you so much for all of these beautiful (and funny) photos! I couldn't have asked for more perfect headshots. SO so so so happy with these.

Jerry - January 2017

We lucked upon Devon through a mutual acquaintance, and we all know how that goes, usually its not a good fit and you don't want to just do someone a favor if they don't suit your needs.

But I had my fiancĂ© at the time look over her website since photography was something she wanted the final call on, and she was extremely impressed with Devon's online portfolio.  The vibrancy, candor, and honest captures of real life as it happened is what her portfolio showed, and that is what we wanted for our wedding shoot.

Devon was extremely accommodating, meeting us at a mid-way location on a flexible date for my work schedule where we ironed out all the details, dates, and cost.  Took care of the contract and payment on the spot over a cup of java, couldn't have been easier, her price was competitive with all the other photographers we looked at in the area.

As for the actual events, Devon was amazing and flexible with her wedding package allowing us to split our wedding shoot into different dates with a 2 hour ceremony and 4 hour reception since we knew our reception wouldn't last longer than that.  Many other services would have been less flexible with those terms but Devon was willing to work with us!

As for the actual events and photos.....we could NOT have been more happy.  Devon met with us early to try and get an idea of what we were trying to capture in photos and we told her we wanted it very relaxed, very candid spontaneous photography.  We did do a few poses for family members but overall she was invisible, the best kind of photographer, taking amazing candid moments and always focusing on the action and joy of the scene.  She checked in at various points in the night to see if we had any specific requests but we just let her do her thing as she had it under control!

In addition to an amazing 500 photos (1000 with B&W), Devon was able to turn around the pictures in 3 weeks!!!!!  We were able to use her pictures on our thank you cards and still get them out within a month because she turned them around so quickly!!!!  I don't want to put undue pressure on her, but I have a feeling she always exudes this kind of work ethic and professionalism!!!

Numerous family members and friends asked about her at the reception and I know my brother has already commissioned her for family portraits, so I am sure she will be a busy woman, and well deserved!!!  Highly recommend her, she's fantastic!


Kelly - December 2016

I love my photos from Devon! She was accommodating and very easy to work with. I had no plan besides 'I need new professional headshots, but she came up with a bunch of different background ideas and setups on the spot. All I had to do was smile!


Colleen - November 2016

Devon, OMG!!!  The first photo took my breath away!  Way to capture our family on a chilly, windy fall day.  They pictures are beautiful!

We really enjoy working with you.  Thank you so much.


Yelena + Jaime - September 2016

Devon was so wonderful to work with and is truly an amazing photographer! We did not give her a lot of guidelines in terms of photos and she ended up capturing the day and atmosphere perfectly. Our photos were beautiful and professional and her creativity shone through. Overall the photos turned out better than anything we could have imagined and Devon truly has a talent for capturing the moment. I would recommend her to anyone interested in having their wedding day memories captured.


Audrey + Tahir - July 2016

Devon is an absolutely amazing photographer - she somehow manages to make everyone look their absolute best, and she does a great job getting good candid shots - which I much prefer to staged photos! She is wonderful to work with and very subtle when she takes photos - I have no idea how she got so many amazing shots at our wedding. She even sent us a preview album just two days after the wedding!


Jenny + Alan - May 2016

We could not be happier with our wedding photos from Devon and Sean, they captured our day perfectly! We wanted a lot of candid photos, but we never expected them to capture so much joy and emotion. Every time we look through the pictures, we're completely transported back to the day! Not only do we love the pictures of us, but also of our family and friends! My best friend was so excited by a photo took of her and her husband that she shared it online and said she loved it better than her own wedding photos of her and her groom! Devon captured everyone who was in attendance in a meaningful way! Everytime we wanted a photo taken, we looked up and Devon was available to take the shot! Even though she was everywhere we needed her to be, she completely fit into the surroundings, quietly and brilliantly taking snaps of everything we wanted to remember! I cannot recommend her enough! Devon was so friendly, her service is so professional. I feel like she really listened to everything I wanted and delivered exactly that! Her blog post about our day reflects her keen ability to capture and tell a story, which in our case was a perfect representation of our day. Definitely, definitely work with Devon - no matter the occasion! She's the best!


Kate Ashby + Michael - May 2016

We are so happy that we chose Devon to photograph our wedding weekend! Her photos were so gorgeous, and she flawlessly integrated herself into the festivities capturing so many special moments that even we somehow missed! Her artistic eye matched with her easy-going personality and professionalism made Devon stand out. We were blown away by the amount of quality, beautiful pictures we received in the end--it was hard to narrow down the ones we loved the most! Fully recommend her. She is the best.


Rachel + Doug - September 2015

Devon was great to work with, very professional and creative. We wanted a lot of candid photographs that captured the emotion and feel of the ceremony and party. The photos were beautiful and caught so many special moments. She got everything, but was also unobtrusive. We loved the pictures so much that we ended up using some of her photos to make our thank you notes, printing the photos and adhering them to note cards. We would definitely work with Devon again and highly recommend her.


Halley - March 2015

I needed professional headshots/portraits for applications and Devon did an amazing job. I got a selection of standard professional shots, as well as some pictures that showed more of my personality. She was easy and fun to work with and manages to put you at ease in front of the camera. 

I've also seen much of her other work for friends and her pictures are always stellar. She's great at capturing little moments that give a voice to an event or portrait session.


Kim + Chris - June 2015

Devon is patient, thorough and has a great ability to capture the essence of the day in her photos. She is somehow everywhere at once, yet is inconspicuous. She asks no questions when you forget you had said you didn't need "getting ready shots", but jumps in and documents the moment. She doesn't bat an eye when you struggle to choke back tears and point out an instant only you can understand and she runs and captures it perfectly. She pivots from classic to quirky to romantic to silly and provides you with moments preserved forever. Call her. You won't be sorry.


Norah + Ben - April 2015

I can't say enough good things about Devon and her photography! She is a true pleasure to work with -- very calm, fun, and kind. My husband and I are not the most comfortable in front of cameras, certainly not for portraits, and she put us at ease. Just as importantly, her work is simply gorgeous. She has a real talent for capturing the spirit of a moment, whether it's sweet or silly. Going through the non-portrait photos was such a delight, because she immortalized moments that we would have completely forgotten in the rush of the day. We've gotten so many compliments on our photos, and it's all thanks to Devon's hard work!


Allena + Todd - September 2013

Working with Devon is like working with one of your favorite artistic friends. She is incredibly professional without giving up her warmth or sense of fun. She finds what makes the couple special and then encapsulates it in her photos. (She was willing to even take photos of us in our LARP costumes if that is what we wanted) She shot our engagement photos (even managed to get the camera shy dog in), our wedding (without falling off a cliff), and our reception. On all three occasions, she got AMAZING photos that I still love to show off. They are shining examples of the love we share and our friends and family. I am almost sorry we do not have another major life event soon so we can have her come and take more amazing photos.


Este + David - May 2013

Working with Devon on my wedding photos was a pleasure. She was easy to work worth, professional, flexible, and best of all an amazing photographer! I can't recommend her enough!


Jennifer + Seth - June 2012

I can't say enough about what a wonderful job she did capturing the emotions of the day in addition to the sights. She was unobtrusive and yet still got great shots of all the important moments, and many of the less important, but still so very endearing ones, too. If you're looking for a photographer who will pay attention to you and capture the essence of your special day in a way that few others can, give Devon a call.


Devon is phenomenal to work with! I need fantastic marketing photos for several different industries and know I can count on her for top notch photos and communication.
She take wonderful, emotional photos of people, and vibrant interesting photos of objects. I recommend her with great confidence for all variety of photography needs!


I have worked with Devon several times and have always had a great experience.  She is fun and easy to work with. The photos always look amazing!


Devon was great to work with, very professional and creative. We wanted a lot of candid photographs that captured the emotion and feel of the ceremony and party. The photos were beautiful and caught so many special moments. She got everything, but was also unobtrusive. We loved the pictures so much that we ended up using some of her photos to make our thank you notes, printing the photos and adhering them to note cards. We would definitely work with Devon again and highly recommend her.


Devon was amazing. She was fun and easy going, but also capable, punctual and detailed. As other reviewers have said, she got to know us and made sure to capture the details of the wedding that were unique to us. Even though we were her clients, it felt like we were working with a good friend. She didn't try to upsell or change our plans or give us anything other than great service just because we had a smaller budget. She listened to us and did everything we asked her to do. She really helped to make our wedding day a great day. We treasure the pictures she took for us.


Devon took newborn photos for us when our daughter was born. She was patient with us and our 10-day old daughter. It was a wonderful experience. Devon captured such beautiful memories for us. I would highly recommend her for any of your memory-capturing needs!! Thanks Devon!!


Devon was a dream on my wedding day. She had a fun yet grounded personality style that flowed well with all the different personalities of the wedding party. She had creative ideas for our couple shots that weren't forced or trite, and the finished product....OMG! Devon produced the best photos my husband and I have of each other... just breathtaking. Devon also captured the reception with amazing results...I never really saw her that night, but I was so very touched at the moments she caught behind her lens. I *highly* recommend this creative, talented photographer!


I'd seen many of Devon's photos before, so when I needed some professional headshots in a hurry, I turned to her.  She was fast, professional. I hate posing for photographs and tend to wind up with really dorky expressions, but Devon coached me through.  When I posted the photos I got flooded with compliments.  Hey, it was Devon who worked the magic.  Also she was very prompt in sending the proofs and processing the final choices.  She's a true talent and professional

Devon Rowland Photography - Virginia - devonrowlandphotography@gmail.com - 443 267 4686